Brasserie de Rochefort – Trappistes Rochefort 8

Style: Dubbel
ABV: 9.20%
Serving type: Bottle into chalice

I’ll be completely honest in saying that I may be in over my head with this beer. As the number 2 rated Dubbel on BeerAdvocate, I might not have the sophisticated palate that seems necessary to fully appreciate a complex Trappistes ale. I figure maybe I’ll drink it now, and try it again in a year or so to see how my taste buds have evolved and matured. But as a casual craft beer drinker, here’s my honest take on this highly hyped beer.

The beer fills my glass with a real nice dark brown hue with two fingers of tan head that faded away relatively quickly.  The alcohol leaves a real nice clear lace curtain around the edges of the glass. The aroma is filled by malt, raisins, figs, and maybe some cinnamon or another spice I can’t quite pick out. My noob taste buds fail me again! Drats!

The taste is very similar to the nose with a slight booze kick to it. Dark fruits and malt are tasty, but it’s not blowing me away like I was expecting.
The medium creamy mouthfeel was a nice surprise as I thought it was going to be much heavier than what it turned out to be. It was complimented by lots of fizzy carbonation. Again, the alcohol warmth fits it perfectly.

Although I enjoyed drinking this and can see why it is a favorite amongst uber-geeks, I don’t believe I completely appreciated this yet. I will probably be giving the ‘6’ version a try to see if that’s more of my style as I think it’s supposed to be a little toned down version of this. Until then, I’d let this one cellar and try it again in a year or two. I’ll use that excuse instead of the $6 price tag which is enough to make me hold off for a little while on its own.

Overall: 3.5/5 – Dark, sinister, and boozy… aka Bobby Brown in a bottle.

Brasserie de Rochefort

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

